June Favourites

After spending three weeks sailing around Europe on a beautiful Royal Carribean cruise ship, the month of May was a tough act for June to follow. However, a relaxing, chilled-out June was probably exactly what I needed after all the excitement and adventure of May and the perfect opportunity to try out some new products. My June favourites are a pick-n-mix of different purchases I’m loving, artists I’ve been enjoying and organisations that I’ve been admiring this month. I’m so excited to share these discoveries with you and I would love to hear about what you’ve been loving this month. Enjoy!

Beauty

This month, I’ve been all about the brows and so my absolute favourite product of June has got to be my Benefit ‘Gimme Brow’ fiber gel. I bought this gel from Sephora in Dubai after one of the Benefit make-up artists gave me a make-over and I think I’ve used it nearly every day since then. My brows are quite sparse, wiry and are much lighter than my hair colour so this gel is perfect for me. The gel coats the eyebrow hairs and the skin to fill in any gaps, makes the hair look thicker and sticks it into place so you have a much neater, more polished brow line. The applicator is shaped like a tiny mascara ward and is the perfect shape and size for shaping as you can make sure you coat the tiniest of hairs without adding great big blobs of product in the process. The gel is also buildable so you can create a natural look during the day and then add extra product at night for a more dramatic evening look without getting crusty eyebrows in the process.

My second beauty favourite of June has got to be my Rimmel ‘Wake Me Up’ concealer.  I can’t even begin to describe how much I love this concealer! During the winter, my skin always feels a bit dull due to the lack of sunshine so just adding a few dabs of this under my eyes makes a dramatic difference. It has a lovely brightening effect that make your eyes look instantly more awake so on the early mornings when I’m still half asleep and don’t have time to put on a full face of make-up, popping a bit of this on with some BB cream and mascara goes a long way to making me look more alert. The only negative I found with this product is that it’s not the heaviest of concealers so if you’re looking for a concealer to cover breakouts or redness, this probably isn’t the one for you.

Youtube

A youtube channel I’ve been absolutely loving this month has been Jubilee Project. The channel is a collection of short films, mini documentaries and films that aim to change the way we view the world in a positive way and to inspire change for a good cause. My favourite series of videos on the channel is a collection of interviews called ’50 People 1 Question’. I love the way that these videos have been created; the footage is so raw and honest in the interviews and all the clumsy, fumbling moments and awkward pauses are included.

Movies

Did anyone else sob themselves silly while watching ‘Me Before You’? Oh my goodness, how good was this movie?? When I first saw the trailer a few months back on youtube, I went straight out to buy the book because I already knew I was going to love this movie. Firstly, because of the Ed Sheeran song on the soundtrack. Secondly, Emilia Clarke and Sam Claflin. And thirdly, her shoes! I love her quirky fashion sense and I love that he loves her quirky fashion sense. This is one of the few novel-turned movies that I actually like (the book is always better!) and I thought the acting was just phenomenal. Any over-acting in a story like this could have easily made the movie sickly-sweet but Emilia and Sam played their parts perfectly.

Books

We’ve had a blustery, rainy June this year in Perth which has given me the perfect opportunity to cosy up with a blanket and wade through my ‘to-read’ book pile. My favourite book this month has got to be ‘Attachments by Rainbow Rowell. This book was given to me as a Christmas present and I think I read the entire book in a day.  The story is about an internet security officer who is hired to monitor the company emails of the local newsroom and while reading the email correspondence between two of his female colleagues, forms an attachment to one of the newspaper writers. It sounds a bit creepy but it’s actually an incredibly sweet story and while this is not generally the kind of book I choose to read, I really enjoyed it and would recommend it for anyone looking for something light-hearted and fun to read.

My second favourite book that I read this month was ‘The Snow Child’ by Eowyn Ivey. This was such a unique story and the perfect book to read in winter-time as the story takes place in a log cabin in the middle of the woods of snowy Alaska in the 1920’s. ‘The Snow Child’ was inspired by a Russian fairy tale and is the tale of an elderly childless couple who are visited by a mysterious little girl in the middle of winter. This is one of the loveliest fairytale re-tellings I’ve read and the only word I can use to describe it is magical. The language, the descriptions, the storyline – everything about this book is just magical and I couldn’t put it down once I started reading it.

Charity

One organisation I’ve been hearing so much about this month is the Perth-based Love Thread Project. The purpose of the project is to combat social justice through the fashion and creative industry and to empower and educate young women at-risk, which is something I am personally very passionate about supporting. The organisation runs regular fashion and creative workshops and events, all with the purpose of encouraging dreamers to find their passion, connecting like-minded people and ultimately raising awareness and support for women who are in need of help. 100% of the profits from the Perth workshops go towards funding a fashion restoration program in Bali for young women who are survivors of human trafficking.

 

Feature image courtesy of the-uglyfish.co.uk

2 thoughts on “June Favourites

  1. rhiydwi says:

    I watched Me Before You when I was in Peru so it was a very badly dubbed version. Hearing what sounded like the voice of a Latino Casanova wannabe coming out of the mouth of Sam Claflin kind of took away a lot of the emotion haha.
    Haven’t heard of that book before! I love Rainbow Rowell so must give it a go

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

